Self-Love

Family back home ❤️
Self-Love is one of the hardest things I have had to learn in my life. I have been blessed with so many wonderful things but accepting my multi-cultural family was difficult for me to accept. I was born and raised in the US and my parents have made their absolute best to raise my sister and I with both Tunisian and American aspects. At a younger age I didn’t understand why my parents would want to do that. I often questioned and wished I could have been just a regular American kid who was not different from the rest. My young mind wished my parents could have been less “Tunisian” and assimilated to the American culture. I was young at the time and just like any 12-year-old I wanted to fit in with my friends. I have curly hair which I didn’t like at the time and often blamed my parents for their “North African ” Genes. I wanted to have straight hair just like the rest of the girls at school. The people I was friends when I was 12  didn’t really understand what it is like to be in a multi-cultural family. I was often told I was only American , I had never lived in Tunisia so I could not be Tunisian. This made me less confident in my self and my background.

Over time I realized the beauty of having a multi-cultural family. Every Summer when I traveled to Tunisia I became more familiar with the history of my Ancestors. A part of me started to feel at home. Many people had the same crazy curls that I had. I became intrigued with the North African Culture. I had even gotten to the point where I didn’t want to leave Tunisia. I fell in love with fun atmosphere. The beauty of having a multi-cultural family started to slowly appear to me. My eyes became open to the amazing privilege that my parents had granted to me. My extended family, who live in many places around the world have made me realize I am not who I am without the multi-cultural background I have, and I thank them for opening my eyes to the beauty of my two countries.

Leave a Reply

